DIG for Sunday the 19th of October…..cursed or blessed because of a work?…..Malachi 3 v 8 and 9

I preached today the last message in my series on new covenant giving and spoke about the tithe.

I didn’t want to as tithing has no part to play in new covenant giving, but I’ve been asked many questions about tithing so I had to cover it.

Malachi 3 is used by teachers of the tithe to say we have to give 10% of all our substance to the church.

They say if we do not tithe we will be cursed (Malachi 3 v 8 and 9).

I know however that Jesus was cursed so that I would not be under any curse of the law (Galatians 3 v 13).

They say that we will be blessed by God if we tithe (Malachi 3 v10).

I know that I already have all spiritual blessings from God (Ephesians 1 v 3) and that I already have all I need for life and godliness through knowledge of Him (2 Peter 1 v 3).

I know this as I live under the new covenant and not under the old covenant.

I live under grace and not under the law.

The same is true for you.

You are not under the law as described in Malachi, you are not required to tithe (listen to my series though as you really should be giving).

Do not let any man tell you that you will be cursed or blessed dependant upon a work, with that work being tithing.

Tell them about Ephesians 1 v 3 and 2 Peter 1 v 3 and tell them you are living under grace.

Speak this out today……”Thank you Lord that because of the finished work of Jesus Christ I live under grace and not under law”.

Malachi 3 v 8 and 9…..Will a man rob God? Yet ye have robbed me. But ye say, Wherein have we robbed thee? In tithes and offerings. Ye are cursed with a curse: for ye have robbed me, even this whole nation

Leave a Reply

