DIG for Tuesday the 25th of November…..grace is what we produce “works” from…..1 Corinthians 15 v 10

Do this, do that, stop this and stop that; this is what church used to be for me and it was what I thought we needed in order to do “good works”.

Church was one long cycle of striving to do good works, followed by failure and condemnation, leading to me backing away from church and fellowship.

Then I heard the message of grace, the gospel of Jesus Christ.

I heard that the key to the Christian life was what Jesus had already done and not what I had to do.

The key word in my Christian life went from DO to DONE.

The key person in my Christian life went from ME to HIM.

The grace of God through the finished work of Jesus Christ became the dominant factor in my Christian life; and that changed my life.

And the same has been true or can be true for you!

It is the revelation of grace that leads to less sin and more “good works” in the life of a believer (Titus 2 v 11 and 12, 2 Peter 1 v 3 and 1 Corinthians 15 v 34).

We will only fail if we labour in our own strength, with our own talents and abilities; as believers we have the option to labour from HIS finished work and labour because of what HE has done (1 Corinthians 15 v 10).

It is good for a believer to want to do good works, that is part of what following Jesus should be all about.

But it has to flow from a love for Jesus and a revelation of what he has done for us through grace and not from a mindset of performance, legalism or law.

We can labour more abundantly if we do it through Him and what He has done; indeed through Him we can do all things (Philippians 4 v 13).

Speak this out today…..”Thank you Lord that I can do labour in abundance, but only through your strength and because of your grace”.

1 Corinthians 15 v 10…..But by the grace of God I am what I am: and his grace which was bestowed upon me was not in vain; but I laboured more abundantly than they all: yet not I, but the grace of God which was with me

Leave a Reply

