DIG for Saturday the 29th of November…..my highlighting made me laugh…..Romans 3 v 23

I was saved in a great church with a good pastor and lovely people, but a church that was somewhat one sided in the teaching of doctrine.

I was reminded about this as I was flicking over the pages of my bible this morning and saw that I had highlighted Romans 3 v 23; I used to highlight a few verses when I was first saved but don’t bother much now, so the verses highlighted were the ones “important” to me back then.

Isn’t it interesting that I only highlighted the verse about sin, rather than highlight the verse before about being as righteous as God through faith in Jesus or the one after telling me that I had been freely justified by the grace of Jesus Christ?

You see that was the emphasis of what I was being taught; sin, sin, sin; when the emphasis should have been about Jesus.

I am also reminded about a friend who looked shocked when I read out Romans 6 v 23.

She said, “What was that second bit you said there?”

You see she had only been told in her church that the wages of sin was death and that she was a sinner, and had never been told the “second bit”, that the gift of God was eternal life through Jesus Christ.

Sin should not be the focus when we have been born again, indeed once saved we should really have no more conscience of sin (Hebrews 10 v 2).

Once saved, our focus should be on the Son; what has Jesus done for me and what has He made me.

The highlighting should be on the verse about us being as righteous as God through faith in Jesus (Romans 3 v 22).

The highlighting should be on the verse about us being freely justified by his grace through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus (Romans 3 v 24).

We should not score out the verse about sin, but this should not be our focus.

Sin is no longer a barrier between God and us for Him (Hebrews 10 v 17) so it should not be an issue for us.

Speak this out today…..”Thank you Lord that sin is no longer an issue for you, that I have been made righteous and justified through faith in Jesus Christ”.

Romans 3 v 23…..For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God

Leave a Reply

