DIG for Friday the 26th of December……meet to encourage and be encouraged, to be taught and to teach…..Hebrews 10 v 24 and 25

Many people have given up on church, on meeting together with other believers.

Can I be really blunt and say that I think this attitude is a selfish one?

You may not feel that you can be encouraged or learn from others (which if I can again be blunt, that is not true) but you are also missing out on the opportunity to help encourage and teach others.

People speaking with me at church inspired my last two DIGs; and if they had not come to church I would have missed out on some really encouragement and also what I would classify as good teaching.

They built on my sermon that day and really encouraged me; they added something extra that I had not thought about.

Also at church that same day another believer encourage me by saying that 2 Timothy 3 v 14 had been speaking to her, reminding her that being under my teaching at MGF was the place for her to be.

If she had not come to church I would not have had that real piece of encouragement.

I hope that these three friends were encouraged in return by my message, by the worship, by communion and by fellowship.

The point I am trying to make is that church (the gathering together of believers) is a place of encouragement and teaching, and these are to be given as well as received.

Go to church (or have fellowship with a group of like minded believers) and be encouraged and be an encouragement, be taught and do some teaching.

The Christian life was not meant to be lived in isolation, that is why God inspired Hebrews 10 v 24 and 25 and also why He instigated the church.

Please don’t tell me that there are no good churches or decent fellowships; that is just not true.

I admit, that any fellowship or church that you find will not be perfect, there will always be something that you could find wrong with it.

But please believe me when I tell you that the encouragement and teaching that you could potentially find would be worth looking past the “bad stuff”.

And you could also be the encouragement and/or teacher that other believers really need.

Make a resolution for 2015 (if you have not already done so); decide to make a real difference to the fellowship that you are in, and if not in fellowship, decide to find one!

Speak this out today…..”Thank you Lord for the encouragement and teaching that I can find in the church”.

Hebrews 10 v 24 and 25…..And let us consider to provoke one another unto love and good works: Not forsaking the assembling together, as the manner of some is; but exhorting one another: and so much more, as ye see the day approaching

Leave a Reply

