DIG for Wednesday the 7th of January…..He explained about Himself through the Scriptures…..Luke 24 v 27

There are some parts of Scripture that just don’t sound right when I read them.

I think things like, “that’s not the way I would have done it” or “I wonder why God did it that way”.

One such part of Scripture was when Jesus met two of His followers on the road to Emmaus, on the day that He rose from the grave.

The two disciples did not recognise Jesus and Jesus went on to explain about Himself by using Scripture (Luke 24 v 25 to 27).

If that was I, I would have opened my arms wide and shouted, “I’m here, and it is me, look at me”.

Now however I realise the importance of Scripture, and that it is a more certain way of knowing and understanding the truth when compared to experience (2 Peter 1 v 19).

Understanding and knowledge gained through the Word of God is more valuable and more reliable than any experience.

Peter wrote that the Word of God was “better” than seeing the transfiguration of Jesus (2 Peter 1 v 17 to 19).

People regularly say to me, “I need to see more of God” or, “I want to feel more of God”; I reply, “read your Bible”.

Reading the Bible is a more sure way of hearing from God or learning from God.

The Bible was literally breathed of God (2 Timothy 3 v 16); God actually “wrote” the Bible.

Speak this out today…..” Thank you Lord for your inspired Holy Scriptures, and thank you that they are there for my instruction and encouragement”.

Luke 24 v 27…..And beginning at Moses and all the prophets, he expounded unto them in all the scriptures the things concerning himself

Leave a Reply

