DIG for Sunday the 18th of January……being offended and taking offence is a sign of immaturity…..Mark 4 v 17

After being prompted by a member of the fellowship I have started studying out what the Bible says about being offended or taking offence.

I am just at the start of these studies (so will probably write more in DIG in the future) but already I’ve had a few revelations.

The Word shows many people being offended and suffering for it; it also shows ways of dealing with issues so that being offended is not what we do.

The biggest challenge so far, and the greatest revelation for me is that being offended is a sign of Christian immaturity.

In Mark 4 we read the parable of the sower, with verses 16 and 17 talking about stony ground.

This is a picture of a believer who is immature, who does not really understand the Word, and does not have a good foundation in the truth (or in other words roots).

That type of person is offended when hard times or issues come along.

In this context being offended or taking offence is a sign of not having a good root system, in other words not being mature in their faith.

This is quite a challenge to me, what about you?

I see Christians taking offence all the time (and normally at what I call imaginary offences), and I have been known to be offended myself!

This makes me think, “What part of my faith is not mature enough?” and “What else do I need to learn in this area?”

Psalm 119 v 165 confirms what we read in Mark 4 saying, “Great peace have they which love the law (or the whole Word of God for new covenant believers): and nothing shall offend them”.

Those who love the Word and understand it, those who have maturity will not be offended.

That is such an encouragement to me, that even though I get offended sometimes there is a way to stop this happening; and the same is true for you!

Speak this out…..”Thank you Lord for your Word, and thank you that the Word is a route for us to stop being offended”.

Mark 4 v 17…..And have no root in themselves, and so endure but for a time: afterward, when affliction and persecution ariseth for the word’s sake, immediately they are offended

One thought on “DIG for Sunday the 18th of January……being offended and taking offence is a sign of immaturity…..Mark 4 v 17

Leave a Reply

