DIG for Wednesday the 4th of February …….right standing has nothing to do with right performance…..2 Corinthians 5 v 21

Sometimes as I prepare for writing a DIG I seem to get a “new” revelation or inspiration, however often I am reminded of a known truth.

Today as I pondered on what to write I was reminded about righteousness, a topic I’ve not written about for a while, but a truth that I think I have a decent knowledge on.

The phrase, “right standing has nothing to do with right performance” came into my head.

I was reminded that I am righteous not because of what I do but because of who I am.

Or to be more precise I am righteous because of who I am in Christ.

Righteousness is not about doing but all about being.

I know I am righteous as a gift of grace through faith in Jesus Christ and what He has done.

I could be made righteous because He became sin for me (2 Corinthians 5 v 21).

I was made righteous when I put my faith and trust in Him.

The amazing truth is that at that point of salvation, in my born again spirit, I was actually made as righteous as God Himself (Ephesians 4 v 24).

In the eyes of God I have complete and absolute right standing; in other words, in His eyes I am acceptable and OK.

And so are you if you have put your trust and faith in Jesus Christ.

The standing (or position) that you have before God, righteous or unrighteous, acceptable or unacceptable, OK or not OK, is only dependant upon your relationship with Jesus Christ and nothing else.

It has nothing to do with religious performance and nothing to do with good works.

In the eyes of God it is important who or what you are; what you do, in the terms of your eternal position, is irrelevant.

Now this is not a licence to sin, as sin has earthly consequences.

Indeed knowing this truth will help you actually see less sin in your life rather than give you a licence for more (1 Corinthians 15 v 34).

Righteousness is a result of what you believe about Jesus rather than being about what you do.

Speak this out today…..”Thank you Lord that I have been made righteous as a gift of grace through faith in Jesus Christ”.

2 Corinthians 5 v 21…..For he hath made him to be sin for us, who knew no sin; that we might be made the righteousness of God in him

One thought on “DIG for Wednesday the 4th of February …….right standing has nothing to do with right performance…..2 Corinthians 5 v 21

Leave a Reply

