DIG for Tuesday the 31st of March…..see Jesus, see the Father…..John 14 v 7

I know Jesus was full of compassion and love for people, but I wonder if he ever got frustrated at them.

Throughout the Gospel of John we see Jesus comparing Himself to the Father, telling His disciples especially that He was on His Father‘s mission and only doing what He would do.

And then we see Him talking to His disciples in John 14.

He repeats what He has said many times (and I paraphrase), “If you see me you see Father God” (John 14 v 7).

Philip then says, “Show us the Father”.

If I were Jesus I think I would be getting rather frustrated at this point, I would be saying something like, “have you not been listening”.

Jesus is clear, the Scriptures are clear about this point, Jesus is God; indeed He is the express image of Father God (Hebrews 1 v 3 and Colossians 1 v 14).

We have a clear picture of the character of Jesus through the Gospels, so we also have a clear expression of the character of Father God as well.

People often say to me, “how can I see God” or “how can I learn about God”.

I say, read the Gospels and transfer what you read about Jesus onto God.

Jesus always healed, Jesus never put illness on anyone, Jesus was compassionate, and Jesus loved people.

God is the same!

God is only ever good, only ever compassionate and only ever wants the best for us (3 John 2).

Speak this out today…..”Thank you Lord that you are a good God, a loving God and a compassionate God”.

John 14 v 7…..If ye had known me, ye should have known my Father also: and from henceforth ye know him, and have seen him

Leave a Reply

