DIG for Tuesday the 12th of April…..worship is also about love…..1 Corinthians 13 v 13

Penultimate DIG in Sean’s series today…..

Is it not interesting that one of the greatest pieces about love found outside the Gospel of John and his letters is about worship, particularly about the use of tongues and prophecy?

Paul shows the Church at Corinth that you can work signs and wonders and heal and have all those things going on but if there is no love there (Agape-Love of God) you are wasting your time; love encompasses all that is good and beautiful.

Last year I went on a five day fast and retreat, and had an awesome time with Jesus.

I felt it was important and was led to do it to see what God required of me.

I was told in no uncertain terms by God that if I knew nothing about His love and compassion to all then I was not getting the truth I needed to move forward.

Now this man thought he knew about love but what I knew was pittance; the five days with the Word and worshipping God took me on a journey that actually ended at 1 Corinthians 13 where truths were revealed that I will write elsewhere.

Enough to say that this chapter, often used for marriage ceremonies, is actually about how a fellowship or church (small ‘c’ for a group of people in one location), should develop strategies of love and welcoming and be open to God and all individuals within a fellowship, to not just sit on their pews but to come prepared in love not just to let the pastor, elders and music team do the work but actually to do stuff themselves.

1 Corinthians 13 is also about order, joy and gentleness not going into pandemonium and confusion and not impure carnality either; it is about living in faith and serving God in loving others.

This is chiefly about being centred on the Word, worshiping in Spirit and truth and being open to God and not egos and emotions.

Yes, even in our worship we are called to love, not just God, but others too.

It seems that always loving God is about loving your neighbour especially as we worship Him.

Speak this out today…..”Thank You God you love us and through us can love others. Thank you that as I face each new day and especially when I go to church or fellowship I can love my neighbour as myself. Thank you Lord for the opportunities to do so and thank you for your resources to develop this”.

1 Corinthians 13 v 13…..And now abideth faith, hope, charity, these three; but the greatest of these is charity

Leave a Reply

