DIG for Tuesday the 2nd of August…..I am, a clear indication of the Divinity of Jesus…..John 4 v 26

In my DIGs over the years I’ve often written that Jesus knew fine well that He was God, contrary to what many theologians teach today.

Reading through the Word this evening I saw another instance when Jesus told someone that He was God.

When going through Samaria Jesus met with the woman at the well, and we see a wonderful encounter that changes her life forever.

The woman talks of the Messiah coming, she talks of the Christ (John 4 v 25).

In the next verse Jesus tells her that he is the Christ, that He is the Messiah.

He also tells her that He is God!

In my Bible the words of Jesus are in red and also any word not in the original Greek is in italics.

In the original Greek Jesus said, “I that speak unto thee am” (John 4 v 26).

This is Jesus clearly referring back to Exodus 3 v 14 where God used the same type of expression.

God called Himself I AM to Moses and at the well in Samaria Jesus says the same thing.

Jesus was clearly saying, “I am God”.

This is an essential truth as God in the form of man was required to ’purchase’ us back from the enemy.

God as man was required to deal with sin, and bring about the possibility of salvation.

God as man was essential for our redemption, so it is good to know that Jesus was God and man.

Speak this out today…..”Thank you Lord that Jesus, fully God, came to earth as fully man and made my salvation possible”.

John 4 v 26…..Jesus saith unto her, I that speak unto thee am he

Leave a Reply

