DIG for Monday the 7th of November…..what a bother this little thing can get us into…..James 3 v 5

The loudest message for me shouting out from the book of James is the power (and danger) of our tongue, of what we say.

I’ve often written and preached on this topic, with one of my favourite verses being Proverbs 18 v 21.

We know that death and life are in the power of the tongue; we know that we can direct our life into good things or bad things depending upon what we say.

James focuses on the negative effect of our words, or as he calls it, the tongue.

These verses in James are a clear warning and challenge to us as believers.

We need to watch what we say!

I know that I still speak out in a negative way from time to time, however I know it is not as bad as it used to be; I have my understating of the Word and a wife who cares enough to correct me to thank for this.

“Well of course you are tired”, Nunsy said to me more than once, “you keep speaking out that you are tired”.

And she was absolutely correct; I would keep complaining and saying I was tired (or “shattered” as my favourite expression was) and of course I was speaking this out over my life and seeing it come to pass.

Our tongue is like a bridle in a horse’s mouth, directing it where to go (James 3 v 3).

Our tongue is like the rudder on ship, decided upon which route it will take (James 3 v 4).

Don’t let your tongue direct you down a road you wish not to take, let it guide you towards a good destination.

Learn from the Word and speak out those truths.

Speak this out today…..”Thank you Lord that I can direct my life with my words and thank you for your Word available freely to show me what to say”.

James 3 v 5…..Even so the tongue is a little member, and boasteth great things. Behold, how great a matter a little fire kindleth

Leave a Reply

