DIG for Saturday the 12th of November…..people, that is what is important…..James 1 v 19

 

I’ve been preparing the Sunday message today and thinking about the relationships I have.

The thought came to me that life is nothing without relationships; the quality of our life is dependant upon the quality of our relationships.

The thought of living without my wife, my children and my granddaughter is unbearable.

The thought of losing relationship with them is unthinkable.

The important ‘things’ in our lives should be, and are, people.

How we get on with schoolmates, work colleagues, church fellowship, family and friends is so very important.

Good relationships help bring peace, while poor relationships bring discord and disharmony.

The Lord pointed me in the direction of James 1 v 19 as a model of loving behaviour, as a model of how we as believers should relate to others.

It is a gauge in a sense of how we are ‘performing’ in relationships (I know that is not the right word but cannot think of another one at the moment).

Are we really listening or are we just waiting to speak?

Are we getting angry too easy or are we patient and loving?

Living out James 1 v 19, through an understanding of God’s love for us, is a great way to maintain and improve the relationships we have.

It is also a wonderful model to use when starting any new relationship.

Speak this put today….”Thank you Lord for your unconditional love for me, thank you that I can love others through an understanding of that”.

James 1 v 19…..Wherefore, my beloved brethren, let every man be swift to hear, slow to speak, slow to wrath

Leave a Reply

