DIG for Thursday the 29th of December…..give with a cheerful heart….2 Corinthians 9 v 7

 

I am very fortunate in having a number of generous partners in the ministry and generous members in our church fellowship.

I am given regular offerings and also some wonderfully generous ‘one-off’ gifts

Today I think I received one of the best offerings I have every received, a wrinkled orange!

After preaching and ministry at a small village church this afternoon an old lady, who I think we prayed for, gave me the orange.

This may not sound much to you, and wouldn’t seem a lot to me (given that we have four or five oranges and a bunch of bananas in the hotel room).

However I could see it was a lot for her, and I am sitting here in my room looking at this fruit feeling really humbled.

I had not asked for an offering, yet the lady wanted to give me something for preaching and praying for her, she wanted to give into the Kingdom.

This lady was not forced, coerced or asked, she just knew she wanted to give and she did.

This makes me think of 2 Corinthians 9 v 7 (about being a cheerful giver) however it also makes me think that we should be giving more like this in the ‘West’.

Not only was this lady giving cheerful and out of love, she was giving sacrificially.

Compared to what we have this lady has very, very little yet she still gave.

I am not going to keep this fruit, not going to take home to Scotland, I am going to eat it soon and I am going to enjoy it.
And I will also be praying that the lady that sowed into my life will be blessed in a mighty way in the days to come.

Speak this out today…..”Thank you Lord that we can give into the Kingdom and thank you for those who give in a sacrificial manner”.

2 Corinthians 9 v 7…..Every man according as he purposeth in his heart, so let him give; not grudgingly, or of necessity: for God loveth a cheerful give

Leave a Reply

