DIG for Friday the 19th of May…..yes, I am the Messiah, but I am also God…..John 4 v 25

I love it in the Word when Jesus confirms that He is God, or is the Son of God, going against what any theologians tell us today.

Jesus was not just a great teacher or a man with the most amazing moral code.

Jesus knew he was God and He told people!

Take the Samaritan woman at the well for example, a case when Jesus spoke of Himself as God that I had not “seen” until recently.

The woman spoke of the Messiah that was coming, of the Christ (John 4 v 25).

Jesus replied by saying this, “I that speak unto thee am he” (John 4 v 26).

He was saying that He was the Messiah, the Christ.

But He was also saying that He was God, as in my Bible the word “he” is in italics indicating that “he” was not in the original Greek.

So Jesus was saying, “I am”.

We know of course that this is exactly what God said to Moses from the burning bush.

Jesus knew He was God and by saying, “I am”, He was telling everyone about this truth.

Jesus was fully man, able to understand all that we are going through.

Remember He has been through any temptation that we can go through (Hebrews 4 v 15).

But at the same time He was God, the Creator of the Universe, who came to His earth to pay for sin Himself.

This is an awesome truth and a truth to be thankful about.

Speak this out today…..”Thank you Lord that Jesus is God and thank you that Jesus came to His earth to deal with my sin”.

John 4 v 16…..Jesus saith unto her, I that speak unto thee am he

Leave a Reply

