DIG for Monday the 25th of July…..which Bible verses do you highlight…..Romans 4 v 7

I had a wee giggle to myself this evening as I was looking for inspiration for this DIG; sometimes they come easily, sometimes (like tonight) I have to think and pray long and hard for a topic.

As I was drawn to one of my favourite verses, Romans 3 v 28, I noticed that only one verse was highlighted on these pages.

“For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God” shone out in bright pink from the pages.

I highlighted a number of verses when I first got this Bible, but stopped doing this quite quickly, so not a lot of verses are highlighted.

It amused me that I highlighted this one and not Romans 3 v 28 or Romans 4 v 7 and 8 (these are alongside on the opposite page of the highlighted one).

As a new believer I was taught to focus on sin, especially my own sin, and to plead for forgiveness.

I was taught to regard myself as a sinner, a ‘truth’ I had to be reminded about often.

Now I know that this is not the truth.

If I highlighted verses now I would go to Romans 3 v 28 where we see we are justified through faith and not through works.

I would highlight Romans 4 v 6 and 7 where we read that sin is not an issue for God anymore, as our sins have been already forgiven.

It made me giggle thinking that I used to believe this nonsense!

The Bible is very clear that we have already been forgiven through the blood of Jesus and that sin is not an issue for God any longer; therefore sin should not be an issue for us.

We all need to keep learning, need to keep the attitude of being willing to be taught, and even changing what we believe sometimes.

Speak this out today…..”Thank you Lord for your Word, thank you for the truths that are there if we would only read, meditate and study for ourselves”.

Romans 4 v 7…..Saying, Blessed are they whose iniquities are forgiven, and whose sins are covered

Leave a comment