DIG for Saturday the 3rd of September…..as righteous as God, are you sure…..2 Corinthians 5 v 21

I wrote yesterday that there are things that I say time and time again, there are also verses that I write about over and over again, and 2 Corinthians 5 v 21 is one such verse.

This is the verse that really changed my life; I changed after the realisation that I was indeed righteous.

Paul wrote to Titus (a pastor) telling him to ’affirm constantly’ the truths about righteousness and justification, and that is one thing I aim to do as a pastor.

I will constantly affirm the truth about righteousness.

I will tell anyone who will listen about righteousness; in fact I will tell those who are not listening about righteousness, hoping that one day the truth will get through!

The Word is very clear about this; we are made righteous and this is only achieved as a gift of grace through faith in Jesus.

We cannot do anything in our own strength to be right with God and be accepted by God (that is my definition of righteousness by the way).

Man can only be righteous, and be made righteous, through faith in Jesus.

We are made righteous at the same time as we are saved, also only available as a gift of grace through faith in Jesus and His finished work.

This is a fundamental and foundational truth of the Christian faith, righteousness (acceptance from God) and salvation only come through faith.

We cannot work our way into salvation, so in the same way we cannot work our way into righteousness or more righteousness.

At our salvation we were made as righteous as God; yes, you did read that correctly, go and read 2 Corinthians 5 v 21 again and see that this is the truth!

Speak this out today…..”Thank you Lord that right now I am righteous, I am accepted and right in your eyes, and thank you that this was achieved as a gift of grace through faith in Jesus”.

2 Corinthians 5 v 21…..For he hath made him to be sin for us, who knew no sin; that we might be made the righteousness of God in him

Leave a comment